Artist banner image

Janneke van der Meer

violin The Schoenberg Quartet was founded in 1976. The 30th anniversary was celebrated in 2006. The musicians of the Quartet (Janneke van der Meer and Wim de Jong, violins; Henk Guittart, viola; Viola de Hoog, cello) share a common interest in the composers of the Second Viennese School - Arnold Schoenberg, Alban Berg, Anton Webern and Alexander Zemlinsky - and the complete works for strings by these composers form the heart of their repertoire. However, their programmes range from the music of Claude Debussy and Johannes Brahms to that of composers of the present day, highlighting the music of the first three decades of the twentieth century. In 2002 the Schoenberg Quartet was nominated for a Grammy Award.


Do you want to be informed about new releases? Subscribe to our newsletter: